Close Encounters at the Wellington Zoo

Out of all the zoos I’ve been to, the Wellington Zoo is one of my favorites. It is a smaller zoo and I felt much closer to the animals. When possible, they used more natural looking fences instead of bars. For instance, near the entrance were penguins behind a brick fence that was short enough to look over. The penguins were only a few feet away from us. There were also few people there, so it felt like we had the place to ourselves.

Cally and I were looking at the meerkats when we heard a lion roaring. We walked over to the lion exhibit nearby and he stood at the gate roaring for a minute. Standing only twenty feet away from him, it was powerful to encounter.

2013-08-04 16.30.41

The zoo had a red panda exhibit. I had not seen a red panda before. It was smaller than I thought it would be, but still very cute. It reminds me more of a koala than a panda.

DSC01225

My favorite animal of the day was this monkey. He’s adorable.

2013-08-04 15.45.43

The zoo had a kiwi exhibit. It’s enclosure was in the dark, since kiwi’s are nocturnal animals.

2013-08-04 15.42.05

Through out the zoo were colorfully illustrated warning signs. I found the obviousness of them funny.

2013-08-04 16.25.26

2013-08-04 16.40.55

Of course, there were many other animals, but I spent more time observing them than taking photos.

2013-08-04 15.47.48

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

